Skip to content

Retreating Rights: Examining the pressure on human rights in Kyrgyzstan

This virtual event will discuss the findings of an upcoming Foreign Policy Centre publication entitled Retreating Rights: Examining the pressure on human rights in Kyrgyzstan. The speed, scope and outcome of the political upheaval following the October 2020 Parliamentary elections may have shocked the watching world, but the flaws and fragility in Kyrgyzstan political system had been clear for some time. This event and new publication will seek to provide an overview of some of the structural challenges facing Kyrgyzstan including governance, corruption, the COVID response, human rights, civil society, media-freedom, rule of law, nationalism, women’s and minority rights. They will attempt both to explain recent events and place them in a long-term context.

 

The publication and the panel will discuss the challenges facing President Japarov following his election as he faces huge economic, public health and social problems, continuing international scepticism and on-going controversy as he continues efforts to change the country’s constitution. The event can discuss ways in which the international community can respond to the current situation on the ground in Kyrgyzstan and look at ways it can work best to prevent further backsliding and to protect rights and freedoms at a turbulent time.

 

Please RSVP on Eventbrite.

 

Time: 2:00pm-3:30pm UK / 9:00am-10:30am Washington DC / 3:00pm -4:30pm CET / 8:00pm-9:30pm Bishkek time

When March 1, 2021 2:00pm-3:30pm (UK time)
Where

The event will take place on Zoom.

Speakers

Dr. Aijan Sharshenova, Postdoctoral Research Fellow at OSCE Academy

Begaim Usenova, Director of Media Policy Institute

Shirin Aitmatova, Founder of UMUT 2020

Dr Aksana Ismailbekova, Postdoctoral Researcher at Leibniz-Zentrum Moderner Orient

Chair: Adam Hug, Director, Foreign Policy Centre

Please RSVP on Eventbrite.

 Join our mailing list 

Keep informed about events, articles & latest publications from Foreign Policy Centre

JOIN